For over 80 years, a small piece of ancient Egypt has been nestled at a historic location on 160 W. Michigan Ave. in downtown Jackson, Michigan. Inspired by King Tut's tomb itself, the building which houses DuPuis et Fils Jewelers has charmed visitors and customers for years.
DuPuis et Fils Jewelers, owned and operated by the DuPuis family since 1974, has actually been providing Jackson and the surrounding areas with one-of-a-kind jewelry, service and charm since 1903. It was originally known then as Bugg's Jewelers, named as such by its founders, William and Maude Bugg.
In 1928, William made a series of changes that still stand to this day, starting with the relocation of the store to 160 W. Michigan Ave. With a neo-Egyptian granite and limestone façade on the storefront, Bavarian plaster-cast ceiling, cherry wood displays and unique scarab sculptures (designed after stylized Egyptian beetle artifacts), the new jewelry store truly became a gem to Jackson's downtown landscape.
A sale of ownership, a subsequent name and a new employee-a clerk named Paul DuPuis-all came in 1947. The store, then called Roy Groom & Sons, continued to operate under new ownership while providing the same charm and quality service for decades until 1974. It was then that Paul DuPuis bought the store, renamed the store to DuPuis et Fils and kept it family-owned to this day.